Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Question

Ok Everyone,

     I have a question that I would like to post to you.....When did it become ok not to learn or make the effort to learn? I have been listening to the other teachers and am hearing some very disturbing comments like: "they just don't care" or "nothing motivates them" and before you say something always motivates lets not go there. I am talking the overall mindset of kids today and their parents. When did lack of education become kewl?????
     I know I face different problems with my students, but they seem to display the same mindsets, even in their parents.  "Its not my job to do their homework," "Its his responsibility to get it done," "I have to work.." REALLY!!!! Oh and my favorite is "I can't help them so I don't insist they do the homework." Oh well that is a good idea.
   Is it just me? Am I being idealistic?  Would love some feedback.

BE GOOD HUMANS!

5 comments:

  1. Some people don't make their children do things they need to do because they don't want to take the time to teach the child how to do it themselves. So if the parent does not want to do whatever the work is, then they won't take the time to make the child do it.

    That why we have a whole generation of kids that think everything should be handed to them and they can open their mouths and say whatever they want and there are not any consequences for it.

    That's just my two cents. But then again, I believe that sometime a child still needs to have my hand attached to her butt when talking does not work with her.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Have felt that way a long time which is one reason I retired early. Had a chance to talk with the gentleman running for Superintendent of Schools and asked him why isn't it written somewhere that it is the child's responsibility to learn and he didn't have a clue as to how to do that. He asked me how we would do that. Not voting for him. Hilda

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know it's hard for you honey as you weren't raised that way, but I have faith in you that you will conquor(sp) this. You seem to have what it takes to get through these kids, I think that is why most don't want to leave you. Hang in there honey - I know you can do it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hey there - you're slipping on updating your blog.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Just signed on - looking forward to another year of your blog!

    ReplyDelete